Tarek El Molla was sworn in on Thursday 14 June by President Abdel Fattah El Sisi as the Minister of Petroleum and Mineral Resources, Egypt Oil & Gas reports.

El Molla will be serving under the new Prime Minister Mostafa Madbouly who replaced Sherif Ismail last week.

The Ismail cabinet resigned on June 5 in a routine move that follows the swearing-in of a president.

Minister of Electricity and Renewable Resources Mohamed Shaker also remained in his position. Osama Ali Asran was appointed as Shaker’s deputy.