Women in Energy Awards: Female Leaders Take the Spotlight

Women in Energy Awards: Female Leaders Take the Spotlight

The third day of the EGYPS 2020 was wrapped up by a gesture in recognition of the exceptional female leaders in the oil and gas sector. The Women in Energy Awards acknowledged these leaders’ achievements and contributions, in addition to the energy companies championing diversity within the workplace.

Returning for the third edition, the Women in Energy Awards were led by a high-level and unbiased Regional Select Jury of industry experts and academics, and were fully supported by the Egyptian Ministry of Petroleum and Mineral Resources.

The awards were divided into four categories. The first award was for the Women in Leadership, which addresses women with successful corporate careers and significant contribution to the industry. The winner was Toula Onoufriou, President of Cyprus Hydrocarbons Company, while the highly commended was Nehal Khalil, Media General Manager at Petrojet.

The Next-Gen Female of the Year Award, which honors the young and upcoming future leaders, was awarded to Rim Magdi, Wireline Evaluation and Perforations Field Professional at Halliburton, while Dena Hegab, Drilling Engineer at BP was highly recommended.

The STEM Star of the Year Award, which acknowledges high-potential science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) female university students with an interest in becoming future leaders was awarded to Amira Mohamed, Student at the American University in Cairo. Farida ElHarouni, Student at the American University in Cairo, was highly commended.

The awards ceremony was concluded with the Employer of the Year Championing Inclusion and Diversity Award, which celebrated regional oil and gas companies that promote gender diversity and inclusion within the sector. Wintershall Dea took the award home.



Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Don't have account. Register

Lost Password